Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for the following:

      • Coordinating committee efforts and long-term plans for the PMA.

      • Communication with members, chapters, and committees about upcoming activities/programs/events.

      • Tracking membership and coordinating the connection of students with faculty or peer mentors.

      • Acting as liaisons with the National Math Alliance and other professional societies (AMS, MAA, AWM, SIAM, ASA, AMATYC, etc).

In forming the Board of Directors, the PMA sought to include representatives from various types of institutions (CC, 4-year universities, PhD granting universities). The Board consists of the following member, in alphabetical order:

      • Dana Clahane; Fullerton College.

      • Maribel Bueno Cachadina; University of California, Santa Barbara.

      • Roummel Marcia; University of California, Merced.

      • Helena Noronha; California State University, Northridge.

      • Jordan Schettler; San JosĂ© State University.

Current Committees

The current committees are the following.

      • Outreach Committee.

      • Conferences/Meetings Committee.

Faculty interested in joining a committees may contact any of the board members listed above or the Chair of the desired committee.

Outreach Committee

The Outreach Committee's responsibilities include the following.

  • Website

      • Creating online communities for students.

      • Maintaining the resources page. These resources are gathered from Career Centers and information shared by faculty/students or other committees.

  • Recruitment

      • Creation of materials for effective recruitment.

      • Connecting with PMA faculty members and providing them with materials to promote the programs/work of the PMA at their institutions, or at institutions near them.

      • Organize chapter meetings and get togethers across chapters.

      • Facilitate the creation of PMA chapters.

      • Organize outreach activities for students and faculty.

  • Annual Conference

      • Aid in advertising the PMA Annual Conference.

      • Creation of materials to advertises the annual conference.

  • Membership Management

      • Managing individual student and faculty membership.

      • Managing chapter membership.

The Outreach Committee consists of the following members, in alphabetical order:

  • Mario Banuelos (Chair); California State University, Fresno.

  • Carmen Caprau; California State University, Fresno.

  • John Rock; California State Polytechnic University, Pomona.

  • Cristina Runnalls; California State Polytechnic University, Pomona.

  • Khang Tran; California State University, Fresno.

  • Eddie Tchertchian; LA Pierce College.

Conference/Meetings Committee

The Conference/Meetings committee's responsibilities include the following.

  • Organizing the PMA Annual Conference. This conference includes activities for students (research and mentoring) and faculty (training in mentoring, community building). Additionally, the conference is used as an opportunity for large scale organization and planning for the PMA.

  • Organizing activities that will take place at the conferences/meetings, such as

      • training of faculty in mentorship.

      • meeting of the board and committee chairs to plan for the future.

      • student mini-conference.

  • Coordinating with faculty writing and managing grants that fund the PMA Annual Conference.

  • Coordinating with faculty at the host institutions and with the funding committee.

The Conference/Meetings Committee consists of the following members in alphabetical order:

  • Andrea Arauza Rivera (Chair); California State University, East Bay.

  • Jessica DeSilva; California State University, Stanislaus.

  • Omayra Ortega; Sonoma State University.

  • Sheri Lehavi; Pierce College.

  • Ryan Moruzzi, Jr.; California State University, East Bay.

  • Alessandra Pantano; UC Irvine.